The Luberon, Lavender Fields and a magical sunset

It feels like ages since I posted something and that’s because it has been a long time!  I go through periods where I am writing almost daily and others where I can’t find a moment to myself.  The last few weeks have felt like the latter with lots and lots of travelling in between.  In fact, I am off to Switzerland again this weekend!  As always, Im travelling faster than my body and mind can keep up.  There are so many overdue posts from my trips to the Alsace region and Giverny and lots more wonderful destinations.  This incredible country continues to amaze because its rich diversity continues to stretch beyond what I could have ever imagined.  Everytime I go away for the weekend I return to my parisienne home in absolute wonder.

We spent this past weekend in the Luberon, in Provence.  We took the (typically) awesome and ultra-efficient TGV from Paris to Avignon.  Thanks to the inefficient French timetables however, this trip took much longer than expected but it would typically take you no more than 2.5 hours to be surrounded by Roman artefacts, the enchanting old city of Avignon, sunny blue skies and fields and fields of lavender.  Have you ever seen a photo of lavender fields?  Most organic beauty brands will  display them in store or in their advertising, especially L’Occitaine.  I don’t know what it is about that visual image but it has always magnetized me.  I always dreamed of a house in Provence for the chance to stand in a field of lavender amidst those rolling purple fields and the cypress trees.  It was an ethereal dream but as always, N makes my dreams come true.lavender

Just how beautiful is that?  Excuse the weird line at the bottom, I took this shot from the car!

It’s incredible how lush these fields look in photos because up close, the flowers are actually quite modest next to the leafy undergrowth. 

Lavender

Another impressive fact is that these flowers do not smell!  I was expecting to be overwhelmed by the scent of lavender but you actually have to rub the flower to release the fragrance, which by the way, is everything it should be…a whimsical reminder of what Provence and the South of France stands for: an understated sophistication and an unparalleled serenity that is extremely uplifting.

Here are a few more photos from our trip.  Unlike my usual self, I didn’t take many.  I really detached and allowed myself to take in all the magnificence through my own eyes as opposed to that of my camera lens. 

And that magical sunset you see…this was our view as we drove out of the walled old-city of Avignon…it was as if someone had dropped their paint box over the canvas of blue sky.  Breathtaking.

Also, did you know there was a “Grand Canyon” in France?  It’s true!  They often refer to it as le Colorado Provençal! The Luberon boasts a specific area with striking red and yellow ochre rocky terrain.  We visited a city called Roussillion.  Perched high up on a rocky hill, the striking color calls to you as you wind upwards through verdant fields towards it.  The village itself is quaint and utterly charming.  I think I was too amazed to remember the camera. 

Definitely a must-do chunk of France!

photo 12 photo 22 photo 32 photo 42 photo 1 photo 2 photo 3 photo 3a photo 2a photo 4a

2 comments

  1. Love. :) I was in this part of France last summer. A must see like you said.

  2. Amelie you’ve explored sooo much of France its impressive! ( :

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

