Skeletons in your closet?

IMG_7395 IMG_7396 IMG_7398 IMG_7399 IMG_7400 IMG_7401 IMG_7402 IMG_7403 IMG_7404 IMG_7405 IMG_7406 IMG_7407 IMG_7408 IMG_7409 IMG_7410 IMG_7411 IMG_7412 IMG_7414 IMG_7415 IMG_7416 IMG_7417 IMG_7418I have a childlike fascination when it comes to dinosaurs.  These incredible reptiles have been a source of major curiosity for me ever since I could read about them.  I am utterly engrossed by what the earth was like millions of years ago.  The Land Before Time was an epic movie while I was growing up (remember the theme song by Diana Ross?) and thanks to a (then exotic!) kiddie lunch toy from Pizza Hut in London, I owned a bendy-plastic puppet Triceratops called Cera who was one of my prized possessions.  She was stubborn in the movie and I was no less so being the bossy older sister!  My sister and brother had each received a Stegosaurus called Spike and a Pteranodon called Petrie.  Cera and I were inseparable and I kicked Spike and Petrie’s butts often with my master puppeteer skills!

I heard that the Musée d’Histoire Naturelle in Paris had an exhibition on dinosaurs that would end in June and so we made our way there last weekend.  Or so we thought.  You should know that the French are (very) bad at signage – usually when you most need it!  Between that and desperately seeking shelter from the rain, we actually ended up at Les Galeries d’Anatomie comparée et de Paléontologie which I only discovered recently!  The dinosaur sculpture at the entrance certainly threw us off!  Of-course, it was nothing like I expected but I cant say I didn’t enjoy it.  It turned out to be a skeleton exhibit of every kind of species imaginable from little critters to monkeys to whales, giraffes and dinosaurs.  It was fascinating and lots of fun trying to guess what animal or creature each skeleton belonged to.  It’s amazing how much individuality cartilage and skin adds.  Except for the very obvious ones like a giraffe or whale or crocodile, others were not easy to guess!

Can you imagine that that cute face in photo 7/8 above belongs to an elephant?  I know!!  Needless to say, I will be heading back there for the dinosaur exhibition that ends on June 24th.  Apparently it’s been so successful, they’ve prolonged it.  Yay for me!

IMG_7397

2 comments

  1. Beautiful! I didn’t know that it was prolonged, I’ll go check it out… Thanks!!

  2. Thanks! : )
    Im super excited to see that exhibit! More here: http://www.mnhn.fr/le-museum/

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

