Around the world on a cent

IMG_5888

I recently received a “just because” gift that I loved!  N handed me a cylindrically wrapped gift that resembled a huge sweetie.  Being a lover of surprises, I couldn’t wait to tear into it and what I saw made me soo excited!  For the explorer, planner (and child) in me it was perfect!  This super cool wall map is no ordinary map.  It’s a “scratch map” covered almost entirely in gold foil.  Scratching off the countries you visited reveals a colorful world beneath…

I have always considered myself well-travelled, a woman of the world, having lived on 3 continents and travelled to 4, I pride myself on having visited over 27 countries and having engaged with so many different cultures, cuisines, and people so I couldn’t wait to (literally) get my cent scratch-scratching away to reveal just how much I had covered…and after I was done with Europe, which I have covered most extensively, or so I thought!  I realized that I had in fact seen next to nothing of this vast and incredible world!

For one, the Maldives wasn’t on the map… what a bummer that was!  Bali is so tiny, scratching that off looked like a speck.  Bahrain, Lebanon, Corsica and Sri Lanka were close seconds there!  Thank God for the US and Canada or my travel escapades would have appeared shameful.  I have covered a lot of the US so we decided to scratch that off entirely except for Alaska, which I hope to do someday soon!  I havent seen that much of Canada however so we thought it was only fair to cross off half, even though my cent was itching to uncover more of that beautifully shiny blue.

The explorer inside me is itching to hop on a plane! I now need to be more strategic in my choices of travel destinations however…the big ones are quick wins!  Hmm, maybe Russia soon, or China… or umm Greenland?!

What’s your dream destination?

IMG_5889 IMG_5890 IMG_5891 IMG_5892 IMG_5896 IMG_5898 IMG_5903 IMG_5902

2 comments

  1. So cool! I need one!

  2. It’s awesome! I checked online for you, you can get one here: https://www.luckies.co.uk/stationery–office/scratch-map-personalised-world-map-poster/

    Enjoy it! ( :

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

