I love…

PARIS IN THE SPRINGTIME

Have you ever seen the movie French Kiss for Meg Ryan?  Being a self-confessed chick-flick aficionado, her older movies sit very high on my list of can-watch-200-times movies.  Her romantic comedies are so dreamy and she was just adorable in all those characters, always rambunctious, stubborn and macho on the outside but a hopeless romantic deep inside whether in Sleepless in Seattle, French Kiss, You’ve Got Mail, When Harry Met Sally or any of her other romantic comedy roles. 

In the opening scene of the movie French Kiss, we see her about to conquer her fear of flying by getting on a flight simulator.  Her therapist asks her to think of something that makes her happy to distract her from this overwhelming fear that is swallowing her alive and she chooses to sing Nat King Cole’s “I love Paris in the Springtime….”.  I had never heard that song before the movie and so for me this song will always be connected with Meg Ryan and French Kiss.  The point I’m trying to get to is that Paris in the Springtime is magical.  Magical enough to help someone get over a psychological fear…or so I like to believe.  I havent yet experienced Paris in full Spring mode but knowing we’re almost there is very exciting! 

I wanted to post a few random pictures from this past weekend.  I got excited everytime I saw a green bud or a flower…life is slowly making its way back into the city despite the still-freezing temps and winter’s very late stay.  But the weather channel tells me we are making an exceptional but drastic jump up to 21C on Sunday!  I’m giddy as a child and contemplating the 101 ways to spend my Parisienne Sunday in the sunshine. 

Any ideas are very welcome!

Paris in Spring

Green buds spring to life near Notre Dame’s cathedral

Paris in Spring

The Eiffel Tower in bloom

Paris in Spring

The ChampsÉlysées … a vision in green and purple

Those curious to hear the song can listen to it here.  I couldnt find a version with lyrics which is too bad but the music is still beautiful and sounds like the musical background of a movie.  For those interested the lyrics are below and I couldnt relate to them more. 

Every time I look down on this timeless town
whether blue or gray be her skies.
Whether loud be her cheers or soft be her tears,
more and more do I realize:

I love Paris in the springtime.
I love Paris in the fall.
I love Paris in the winter when it drizzles,
I love Paris in the summer when it sizzles.

I love Paris every moment,
every moment of the year.
I love Paris, why, oh why do I love Paris?
Because my love is near.

(Dedicated to my N x)

3 comments

  1. Beautiful pictures!

  2. julio1305 · · Reply

    Love that song!

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

