A stroll through Père Lachaise

Oscar Wilde gravePere Lachaise cemetery

Edith Piaf graveEdith Piaf gravea gravePere Lachaise cemeterya gravePere LachaisePere Lachaise cemeteryPere Lachaise metro stop

Let me confess something up front.  I’m a chicken.  I hate the dark, I haven’t watched a horror movie since Michelle Pfeiffer’s What Lies Beneath (2000) and I’m scared of my own shadow so cemeteries are generally a no-go zone for me because I find them creepy and because they are a reminder of our inevitability, which terrifies me.  Still, part of being in Paris requires you to know at least the “Classics” in the city and every guide I have read has made reference to this historical landmark.  So in the spirit of discovery (I had never stepped foot in that part of Paris) N and I made our way to Père Lachaise for a walk through history and to pay homage to some of the Greats that have changed our lives.

Cimetière du Père-Lachaise is the largest cemetery in Paris, located in the North-Western side of the city in the 20th arrondisement.  It is very easily reachable by metro as ligne 2 (blue) or ligne 3 (khaki) both lead to the Père Lachaise stop which is practically facing one of the many entrances of the cemetery.  It felt huge just walking through it.  The lanes leading from one area to another were extremely wide and traditionally cobbled making for a really whimsical and nostalgic experience.  Père Lachaise is apparently the world’s most visited cemetery and attracts thousands of visitors every year to the graves of those who have enriched French life in some way.  It is also the site of three World War I memorials. 

Given the extreme cold, we strategically decided to walk the periphery of the cemetery and to visit only a few graves.  We saw Oscar Wilde’s grave, which you may remember from Woody Allen’s Midnight in Paris. We also paid Edith Piaf’s grave a visit.  It was smaller and more obscure than I imagined it would be but still it was important to say thank-you to the quintessential Parisian voice who gave us La Vie En Rose. 

I must admit it was not as creepy as I imagined although I won’t be returning any time soon.  I must also say that the one thing that bothers me in cemeteries is that the size of the grave, headstone, number of flowers or elaborations almost signify the importance of one life over another and this notion bothers me.  It’s true that in life, some people are more priviledged than others but I believe that in death we are all equal.  For me, visiting these few Great’s graves made the experience a bit more personal because Oscar Wilde taught me that “we are all in the gutter but some of us are looking at the stars” and Edith Piaf taught me that regret is a waste of time and that La Vie En Rose will forever be my favorite French song and a personfication of this nation I am loving more and more every day.

2 comments

  1. Pere-Lachaise was the universal favourite when we visited Paris in 2009. The whole family would list it as their number one spot to re-visit next time. A friend told me that Oscar Wilde’s tomb was now enclosed by glass. It was not in 2009. I now highly regret leaving my red lipstick at home! Oh well, c’est la vie! Lovely photos!!

  2. Haha thanks Sarah! Oscar Wilde’s tomb is indeed enclosed by glass now, it’s not very obvious but if you look at my first photo extra hard, you will see the glass casing. I wonder if being there by summer is a different experience because i found the grey sky and bare trees added more melancholy to the whole setting.

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

