2012 : a look back on a magical year

Fantastyland

Hello everyone!  It’s sunny skies and gorgeous weather in Dubai, I’ve been trying to spend as much time as I can either outside or with the windows of my silver seraph rolled down.  It’s been so special being back home with family and friends and I’m so happy that N flew in to join us in Dubai this morning!

2012 you have been eventful in more ways than I can count.  Every end of year I try to take some time to reflect on the year that is ending.  And I mean really reflect.  Beyond just drafting a set of resolutions.  I think it’s helped me over the last few years and I’ve definitely stuck to some of my resolutions because of it.  Here are the highlights of my year in a tiny list…

JANUARY – N and I flew over Dubai in a hovercraft.  We also discovered Old Dubai and created The List.  I ran the 10K Standard Chartered marathon in Dubai with zero training and realized I had lost my running skills completely!

FEBRUARY – I entered the world of blogging with thefakeparisienne and discovered a new passion.  I was secretly happy to receive a Valentine bouquet at work for the 1st time

MARCH – I visited Bali with one of my favorite people, cycled through rice paddies, ate delicious food, bought gorgeous snakeskin bags and decided I want to own a house there one day

APRIL – N flew by Dubai for his 3-day Easter break,  Devastatingly short and a new lesson in the tortures of long-distance.  I gradually lost my Bali tan and dreamed of returning…

MAY – I received an offer for my move to Paris!  After an agonizingly long wait, the process of my move finally began…  We enjoyed the last few days of Dubai’s good weather.  N and I celebrated a year together.

JUNE – The month I became French in my head.  I started reading obsessively, I daydreamed, I dreamed, I fantasized about the day I would move to Paris

JULY – I visited Corsica, ate the best Brebis cheese, discovered heavenly beaches and fell even more in love with N.  I also spent 2 weeks in Paris in preparation for the move to come.  It rained nonstop and was freezing cold

AUGUST – A month of celebrations.  I turned 1 year older ) : but received some awesome gifs and celebrated in style! ( :

SEPTEMBER – I visited Barcelona, Valencia, Madrid and new parts of Switzerland.  I switched to my 1st iPhone – The iPhone 5!  I waited and waited for my French visa…

OCTOBER – my favorite Dubai girls and i spent a fabulous weekend in Ras Al Khaima as a last goodbye weekend.  i moved to Paris!

NOVEMBER – I slowly became more of a Parisienne, navigated my way around Paris and discovered I know my way around quite well.  I ate a lot of viennoiseries and other French delicacies.  I celebrated Thanksgiving in Paris with N.

DECEMBER – I moved into my new apartment in Paris.  I visited Lausanne.  I visited Disneyland Paris.  I flew back home to Dubai…

What an adventurous year this has been!  If there’s one thing Ive learned it’s that taking chances is one of the most rewarding things in life.  With it comes so much uncertainty and ambiguity but the rewards are that much more incredible.  It is fulfilling and motivating and brimming with adrenaline-filled excitement and it has taught me that I am so much stronger than I thought I was.  I’ve also discovered that I draw happiness from discovering new places and cultures.  Bali, Corsica and Spain were worlds apart and it was an absolute pleasure understanding their people, tasting their food and discovering their stunning landscapes.  My move to Paris was a further test in an even deeper discovery and I am loving it every single day.  And last of all I fell in love.  Yes, I was already in love but I didn’t realize it was possible to love someone even more.  I learned that love has no boundaries.  Not geographical, not emotional not any.  Thank-you my darling N for making this year richer, more exciting and more memorable than I could have imagined.

And a BIG thank-you to all my followers for your time, your comments and your interest.  It’s because of you that I continue to document my adventures here.  I look forward to sharing even more exciting adventures with you in 2013.  Happy New Year to each and everyone of you.  Dream BIG, live BIG, love BIG and remember to take BIG chances because with chances come changes and that’s where the adventure lies.  I hope you get to celebrate BIG wherever in the world you may be!

Love and peace.

One comment

  1. By far my favorite post so far…..Such an adventurous year indeed! I’m happy I got to read along through ur blog to feel what u felt, and see what u saw, and learn about all those new places. With each new entry you’ve enriched a mundane day into an absolute enjoyment :) Thanks for sharing x

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

