Happy Thanksgiving

Since I left my life in the US in 2008, I have been back to visit at least once every single year and serendipituously always in the Fall.  I am missing my New York fix this year and have this insatiable hunger for that feeling of Fall that can only be truly felt in New England.  The flavours, the crisp sunny days, the colors…oh the colors but mainly Thanksgiving and all the flavors that come with it.  This is a holiday reserved for Americans and I envy them for this day so much so that I have decided to incorporate it into my repertoire of annual holidays regardless.  It sucks to have been sitting at work today while all of America takes a few moments to reflect on their past year and to enjoy a little bit of humility.  Obviously this is something we should do everyday but to dedicate a day to truly and consciously being grateful is special.  And like every year, and every day I have so much to be grateful for and feel so lucky to be where I am today and to have been granted this incredible opportunity to be in Paris.   I am especially grateful to God for easing the path to make things much easier for me than they could be.  Last Tuesday the 13th I saw a few apartments.  That same evening I expressed interest in one.  Today, the 22nd, I moved in to my new place.  Apparently this is record time for Paris and I couldn’t be happier.  I have a ridiculous amount of unpacking to do but more and more I am feeling at home and a part of everyday life here and I am so loving being a Parisian.

In homage to the poor people of my beloved country Palestine whose beautifully old facades and kind faces I haven’t seen since 1997; and in light of the recent atrocious happenings in Gaza, I pray for safety, shelter and comfort from the raining bombs and bullets that have violated their lives in the past few days.  We are so grateful to be sitting where we are…sipping on a coffee somewhere, having a drink in a bar, snuggled on the couch at home or sleeping in a warm bed.  The people of Gaza have been under occupation for years and right now they suffer a more deliberate attack that is targeted at their women, their children and everyday people like us who want nothing more than the basic comforts of a peaceful life.  My heart breaks over those who have lost family members, children, limbs, memories, lives… enjoy your Thanksgiving and be grateful for what you have because there are so many aching souls in this world who would move mountains to be in your shoes.  I spent last Thanksgiving with N in NYC where we took the photo of the float above in the midst of the Macy’s Thanksgiving Parade.  I love this photo because it really captures the notion of Thanksgiving for me.  It humbles me and reminds me that hope is what keeps us going.

I would love to hear from all of you.  What are you grateful for this Thanksgiving?

Bon Appetit to all!  And to my American followers, please eats lotsss of turkey, pecan pie and apple pie for me!!  Happy Thanksgiving to all.

 

2 comments

  1. I definitely overindulged on the food. I haven’t been home for thanksgiving since 2009 so I was very, very excited for all the food. I ate so much, I had no room for dessert and had to have a post-nap dinner (we actually eat the meal around 4 pm but we eat so much there is no need for dinner). It was nice to be back with my family this year. :) I hope you get to celebrate in France too!

  2. Hey Amelie! Glad you got to spend it with family this year…thats what its all about! We got to have a Thanksgiving meal in Paris yesterday…was sooo good! Thank God Thanksgiving happens only once a year otherwise we’ll all be fat! hehe

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

