My 2nd week in Paris…

My life feels like it’s been quite uneventful over the past few days and yet every day there is a drama of some sort.  Basic every day things are somehow spun out of proportion here making every little victory one worth celebrating.  For instance, my washing machine was finally fixed this morning after an almost 3-week wait!  I couldn’t wait to get home and put a load in the washer just to listen to the beautiful symphony of the spin cycle.  Aaaah, the simple pleasures in life.  Clean laundry.    I’m slowly learning that to get things done in Paris you must complain.  Playing nice guy doesnt help.  This conflict-loving culture will immediately react when provoked and will completely ignore you when you shower them with P’s & Q’s.  It’s quite amusing.  This morning at work, our lovely PA sent a horrifying email to the IT department after two weeks of nicely requesting share drive acces for me.  It was truly scary…full of shouty capital letters, exclamation marks and paragraph upon paragraph of accusations.  I was granted access 1 hour later!  As irrational as it sounds, I need to learn to play tough guy!!  Grrrrr….

This past weekend was excellent in parts and depressing in others.  Bad news first…always!  It was depressing because I pretty much worked through all of my Sunday and part of my Saturday for a meeting I had yesterday.  It was exhausting and frustrating being indoors when the sun was shining so brightly over Paris showing me the most beautiful blue sky I have seen since I have landed.  And so I eventually left home on Sunday afternoon for a brief walk to a nearby cafe where I proceeded to work.  Still, the refreshing cold air and blue skies brightened up my day just that much more.  Thankfully the meeting went very well despite being 7 hours long!  Now on to the good news… My Saturday started off amazingly well because I finally managed to have all the paperwork I needed to get a local phone line!  Dont ask…the bureaucracy in this country is mad!  Nevertheless, my new iPhone 5 is now singing with happiness because it is fully functional for a lot more than just Instagram pictures (which by the way is becoming an obsession!).  After affirming my existance in France with a French number I played true Parisian making my way down to the famous Galeries Lafayette for hours and hundreds of Euros worth of some wonderful (and much-needed..ahem) shopping!  It was wonderful!  Nothing beats a little retail shopping and especially in the city of fashion!  I am also now better equipped to tackle the quickly dropping temperatures.   Boots, more boots, a coat, scarves, a hat… oh how i love the seasons.

Aside from that it’s been nothing but work, work, work… and lot’s of unhealthy eating.  This is probably one of the rare times in my life where I am consuming so much sugar and losing weight.  I guess skipping breakfast, lunch and dinner allows that!  We have a “bank holiday” this Thursday so I am jumping with joy even though I will not be able to do a “pont” and bridge my Thursday with the weekend to enjoy a desperately-needed 4-day long break.  Nonetheless, you wont hear a complaining peep out of me…I am ecstatic beyond words…to rest, to sleep, to see more of this wonderful city and to welcome N back to what is quickly becoming his city too.

Have a wonderful rest of the week everyone… I’m personally counting down to Wednesday night.  A bientot!!

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Veg*n e-Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

