SWF seeking BFF!

I’m kinda ashamed to admit this but one of the things intimidating me the most about the impending move to Paris – even more than the language barrier and the gloomy rainy weather – is how to rebuild my social circle.

Does that sound childish?

Somehow picking up your whole life and moving in your 30’s (albeit unattached) is ironically far more intimidating and scary than moving when you’re still a college kid or in your 20’s.  It’s so much harder to start over and I worry I will not be proactive enough (read lazy) about my ‘friend search’ or even worse, will not know where to find them with my feeble French.  At the end of the day, even if N will be closer which will make communication easier and visits more frequent, you still need some girlfriends for the occasional coffee,  shopping excursions, gossip sessions and lots of fun girly things.

Today, while doing my usual round of blog reads, I accidentally stumbled upon Rachel Bertshe’s blog  “MWF seeking BFF” and i was (1) relieved to know I am not alone in this feeling  and (2) excited about setting up my own “friend dates” around the city.  Perhaps I too should take this 52-date challenge in the hope of finding a new BFF in Paris!

What do you think?  Am I nuts or is this normal?  I mean, Rachel did it!

I don’t know where and how I will find these friends but I look forward to buying the book and finding out!

In the meantime, and at the risk of sounding like a personal ad, if you have any fabulous English-speaking (or not!) girlfriends in Paris, please dont hesitate to introduce them to this simple, easy-going, shopaholic, sweet-tooth loving, foodie+travel-obsessed, hopeless romantic girl (aka me!).

*gulp*

2 comments

  1. I will immediately take hold of your rss as I can not to find your email subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please let me realize so that I may subscribe. Thanks.

  2. Hello! You can subscribe on the homepage (www.thefakeparisienne.wordpress.com) or let me know your email address and I will add you to the mailing list. Thank-you for your interest and for reading!

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

