Those damn French…

Despite the fact that I live in Dubai, working for a French company has opened my eyes to many French idiosyncrasies.

[When in France, speak French…but also anywhere else if you’re a Frenchie]

The one I most detest is the fact that the French refuse to speak any language but their own regardless of which country they are in.  I am constantly in situations where I am surrounded by French speakers whether in Dubai or Lebanon or wherever else and always having to work extra hard to comprehend their annoyingly wonderful language.  While this is a language I have always loved and wanted to learn, I have developed some resentment for constantly being the black sheep in the crowd.  Why do they have such difficulty showing respect to other non-French speakers?  The positive news is  that this frustrating reoccurrence has really forced me to develop my vocabulary and sharpen my listening skills.  I am better able to understand conversations but my ability to respond is still somewhat limited.  I have to admit that the above is making me even more desperate to improve, and fast!  I cant wait for the day when I can seamlessly carry a conversation entirely in French.  I hate to think what this frustration will develop into when I am amidst their people entrenched in a French office…

[Francophonians are everywhere]

Another fascinating fact  i recently learned is that French is spoken by more than 200 Million people around the world!  That’s huge!  Ive also discovered that the French love to travel.  I dont know whether it’s because my ears are now more attuned to their language however it seems they are everywhere!  Hiking up the Sigriya rock in Sri Lanka, splashing in a beautiful pool in Bali, strolling through a supermarket in Amman…at least I know they are culture vultures and to that I am very proud to be associated.  I cant wait to be a tourist on their home turf!  I pledge to conquer all of France during my stay there…from Normandy to Brittany, to the Loire Valley, Corsica and Provence.  And i will do it all fumbling with French but also speaking my own language…because I too want to preserve my identity on their grounds.

Viva la France et tous les francophone…comme je vous detestez et je vous aimez en meme temps!

Leave a Reply

Love, Mama xx

Notes to Sami

food to glow

feel good food that's good for you

Cooking Up The Pantry

Feeding a hungry family!

Jar of Turquoise Sunshine

A blog of creative stuff, updated monthly in all categories!

Violet's Vegan Comics

Virtual Vegan Comics for Children

A Free spirited Fish

An insight into my life of holistic living, travelling and surfing

Lace In The Desert | Dubai wedding blog

Dubai wedding blog for stylish brides getting married in or from the UAE

The Baking Owl

A blog written by an aspiring 14 year old baker.....

The Home Journal of the Palestinian Vegetarian

At Home, Cooking, Delicious Healthy Food of Palestine

Sweet Pax

Cakes, bakes and more...

dreamernxtdoor

A fine WordPress.com site

My Kabul Kitchen

Afghan Food Memoir

Extraordinary Kitchen

One -Of- A- Kind Vegetarian Whole Food and Travel Stories

Boulder Baking Queen

Baking for the baked.

Daisy Cakes

A puppy and her girl's confectionery journey

Bucket List Publications

Indulge- Travel, Adventure, & New Experiences

accordingtodina

Design . Food . Me

